Lionel Messi wins Ligue 1: Who’s won the most league titles in the history?

Lionel Messi wins Ligue 1: Who’s won the most league titles in the history?

Lionel Messi secured his 11th league title of his glittering professional career.

The little Argentine magician scored an absolute stunner in Paris Saint-Germain‘s 1-1 draw at home to Lens, a result that was enough for Mauricio Pochettino’s side to mathematically win Ligue 1.

It’s yet another trophy for Lionel Messi, who’s now closing in on former Barcelona teammate Dani Alves world record haul of 43.

The seven-time Ballon d’Or winner stands a very good chance of equaling and surpassing the Brazilian full-back before hanging up his boots.

But what about the accolade for the most league titles in history? Well, Lionel Messi may struggle there.

His total of 11 is mighty impressive, however, it’s a long way off the record, which currently stands at an enormous 16.

So, let’s take a look at the 27 players with more league titles than Lionel Messi


The 27 players with more league titles than Messi

Vitali Rodionov | 12 titles (BATE Borisov)

Predrag Djordjevic | 12 titles (Olympiacos)

Wilfried Balima | 12 titles (Sheriff Tiraspol)

Paco Gento | 12 titles (Real Madrid)

Dmitri Likhtarovich | 12 titles (Dnepr-Transmash Mogilev & BATE Borisov)

Andreas Ulmer | 12 titles (Austria Wien & Red Bull Salzburg)

Bobby Lennox | 12 titles (Celtic)

Stale Stensaas | 12 titles (Rosenborg)

Gary Neville | 12 titles (Manchester United)

Manol Manolov | 12 titles (CSKA Sofia)

Kenny Dalglish | 12 titles (Liverpool & Celtic)

Sergiy Rebrov | 12 titles (Rubin Kazan, Dynamo Kyiv & Fenerbahce)

Arjen Robben | 12 titles (Bayern Munich, Real Madrid, Chelsea & PSV Eindhoven)

Sandy Archibald | 13 titles (Rangers)

Hossam Ashour | 13 titles (Al Ahly)

Jonathan Joubert | 13 titles (CS Grevenmacher & F91 Dudelange)

Ryan Giggs | 13 titles (Manchester United)

Olegs Blagonadezdins | 13 titles (Skonto Riga)

Ignatius Nesterov | 13 titles (Pakhtakor Tashkent, Bunyodkor Tashkent & Lokomotiv Tashkent)

Imre Schlosser | 13 titles (Ferencvarosi TC & MTK Hungaria FC)

Mihails Zemlinskis | 13 titles (Skonto Riga)

Valentin Belkevich | 13 titles (Dinamo Minsk & Dynamo Kyiv)

Timur Kapadze | 13 titles (Pakhtakor Tashkent, Bunyodkor Tashkent, Lokomotiv Tashkent, Neftchi Fergana & FK Aktobe)

Alfredo Di Stefano | 13 titles (Real Madrid, River Plate & Millonarios)

Oleksandr Shovkovskyi | 14 titles (Dynamo Kyiv)

Hossam Hassan | 14 titles (Al Ahly, Al Ain & Zamalek)

Roar Strand | 16 titles (Rosenborg)

Lionel Messi 1st international match in Argentina. Who were the team mates?

Lionel Messi 1st international match in Argentina. Who were the team mates?

Look at Lionel Messi’s teammates from his first international match in Argentina.

Lionel Messi possibly played his final international match in front of the Argentina fans on Friday night as he hinted that he may consider retirement from international football after the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Argentine defeated Venezuela in a 2022 World Cup qualifying game (CONMEBOL) 3-0 where Messi also found the back of the net.

After the Venezuela tie, Messi hinted at bringing down the curtains on his illustrious international career once the showpiece event ends later this year.

“After the World Cup I’m going to have to rethink a lot of things, whether it goes well or badly,” he said.

“There is a wonderful group here. People love me a lot and every day they show me more. I am very grateful. It does me good every time I come to Argentina. After the Copa America win, much more. Everything flows naturally and it is easier on the field. Winning helps make everything nicer and easier.”

It was a 2006 World Cup qualifying game held at the Monumental Antonio V. Liberti in Buenos Aires. Argentina beat Peru 2-0 as Juan Roman Riquelme found the back of the net from Messi’s assist. The other one was an own goal scored by Peru’s Luis Guadalupe.

lionel messi first international match in argentina

Let us take a look at who Messi’s teammates were in that game and where are they now.

1. Roberto Abbondanzieri – GK

2. Fabricio Coloccini – RB

3. Fabricio Coloccini – RB

4. Gabriel Milito – CB

5. Juan Pablo Sorin – LB

6. Lucho Gonzalez – RM

7. Kily Gonzalez – LM

8. Sebastián Battaglia – DM

9. Juan Roman Riquelme – AM

10. Lionel Messi – FW

11. Hernan Crespo – FW

12. Carlos Tevez -Sub

13. Mario Santana – Sub

Pin It on Pinterest